Skip Navigation LinksHome : Departments : Texas AgriLife
Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service

 

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Smith County has a rich history of serving its citizens. In 1906, W. C. Stallings was hired by the Smith County Commissioners Court as the first county agent in the United States to serve only one county. 

 Today, five agents and one program assistant serve residents with a diverse offering of educational programs and services.  


Smith County's year 2010 population of 209,714 places it in the top 25 counties in the state. County agricultural enterprises annually averages $150,000,000 for area farmers, ranchers and horticultural operations.

We provide research-based information in agriculture, horticulture, family and consumer science, 4-H and youth development and community resource development through educational programs. The Smith County Extension program is administered by a professional staff of Extension agents working with the Smith County Leadership Advisory Board. Educational programs are implemented through specific program area committees. Board and committee members are community volunteers interested in helping the people of Smith County.
Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service
Smith County Smith County Cotton Belt Building
1517 W. Front St., Suite 116
Tyler, TX 75702-7854
Phone: 903-590-2980
Fax: 903-590-2984
Email: Smith-tx@tamu.edu


Staff
Patrice L. Dunagin
County Extension Agent - Family Consumer Science
p-dunagin@tamu.edu

Keith C. Hansen
County Extension Agent - Horticulture
khansen@ag.tamu.edu

Sarah E. Bolt
County Extension Agent - 4-H and Youth Development
sehindman@ag.tamu.edu

Chad Gulley
County Extension Agent - Agriculture and Natural Resources
c-gulley@tamu.edu

Ashley Pellerin
Cooperative Extension Agent
Ashley.Pellerin@ag.tamu.edu

Penny Hunter
Program Assistant - Better Living for Texans
p-hunter@tamu.edu

Rae Meinen
Secretary - 4-H and Youth Development, Agriculture and Horticulture
Rae.Meinen@ag.tamu.edu

Carolyn Chalender
Secretary - Family & Consumer Science, Better Living for Texans (BLT)
Carolyn.Chalender@ag.tamu.edu
 
Mission Statement

Improving the lives of people, businesses, and communities across Texas and beyond through high-quality, relevant education. 

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service
Improving Lives.  Improving Texans.

Smith County Texas
100 N. Broadway Tyler, Texas
© Copyright 2013 Smith County - All rights reserved
phone 1.903.590.2600 | email comments@smith-county.com