County Court-at-Law

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Judge Jason Ellis


The County Court-at-Law was created in 1963, as a Statutory County Court by the legislature under the Texas Constitution. This court has expanded jurisdiction, which means this court hears the following types of cases: misdemeanor criminal offenses, Justice of the Peace and Municipal Court Appeals, third-degree felonies, state jail felonies, divorces, adoptions, custody, civil suits and probate cases.

Previous presiding judges of the County Court-at-Law include R. M. Hutchins (in office 1963-1968), Melton G. Mell (in office 1969-1989), Joe D. Clayton (in office 1989-1993), Richard B. Patteson ( in office 1993-1994), Diane V. DeVasto (in office 1994-1995) and Thomas A. Dunn (in office 1996 to 2014).

The Honorable Jason Ellis is the current presiding judge of the County Court-at-Law.


Smith County Courthouse
100 N. Broadway, Room 209
Tyler, Texas 75702

Christopher, KimOfficial Court ReporterCCL(903) 590-1655
Duke, PhyllisCriminal Court CoordinatorCCL(903) 590-1653
Ellis, JasonJudgeCCL(903) 590-1651
Goss, JohnCourt Probation OfficerCCL
Samuels, IndiaBailiffCCL(903) 590-1651
Wich, JodiCourt Administrator -Civil Court CoordinatorCCL(903) 590-1654

Weekly Court Agendas

Any and all court documents MUST be filed with the Smith County Clerk's office or District Clerk’s office. All Dockets are Subject to Change.

Select a date below to retrieve docket